BCM212

Research Project Update

Hey, peeps! My research project titled ‘Uni & Work Vs. A Social Life’ is well underway and I’m super stoked to finally have my survey published. If you haven’t already seen the link on my Twitter feed, you can answer it HERE!

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 5.23.26 pm.png

The research topic I have decided to pursue is: ‘Are university students spending too much time studying and working, pushing their social commitments and health to the side?’

I think you’ll be happy to know that I’m currently midway through the research phase, and my project has progressed in the following ways:

  • I have publicly researched my project topic and was able to find numerous sources outlining critical judgements on my topic. My project and its future plans have been consumed with interest mostly in the form of student engagement via Twitter.
  • When it came to recruiting individuals to complete my survey, I posted the survey link on my personal Facebook and Twitter account as a promotional method encouraging people to participate.
  • I also posted my survey link on the UOW Students Buy and Sell Facebook page with the hopes of appealing to an even larger target audience. This method proved to be extremely successful due to the high levels of traffic completing my survey, just shortly after it’s link was uploaded. 
  • Background research was also completed in order to identify strategies to overcome the inevitable imbalance between uni/work and social activities. 
  • I‘ve also created a communication plan and risk analysis framework allowing me to stay on track and not let the work pile up.

I attempted to combat issues in relation to my survey by stating every question clearly and concisely, making sure everything was worded appropriately, presented ethically and free from bias. When uploading information to various social media sites, I thought it was also imperative to include links to my WordPress Blog to show that my findings are actually are leading to a concluded result and aren’t just wasting people’s time. Whilst I also planned on completing two separate interviews, time is a massive factor and with such as short deadline there simply isn’t enough time to analyse results from my survey and interviews.

Whilst my survey will be online until the 12th of May, it’s definitely going to be interesting to see the final outcome after I’ve critically analysed my answers! My next update shouldn’t be too long, the results will be posted soon… stay tuned!!!

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 5.22.34 pm.png

Leave a Reply

